Clarence Marsh Memorial Award

2017 Clarence Marsh Memorial Award Winner: Darbi Rumpel

2017 Clarence Marsh Memorial Award Winner Darbi Rumpel. Photo courtesy The Taber Times

SRSAN is pleased to present Darbi Rumpel with the 2017 Clarence Marsh Memorial Award. Darbi is an active self-advocate with Taber Special Needs. Darbi assists the organization’s health and safety committee, doing daily walk-throughs of the building and reporting any health and safety concerns.

Darbi also helps Taber Special Needs fulfill its contract with Unifirst by sorting one to two bins of rags every day. Her workmates appreciate her smile and the way she cheers everyone on until the job is done.

Darbi is also a leader in the organization’s advocacy group, Dynami. She attends all meetings and is an active member of their fundraising and social committee. Darbi loves her role with Taber Special Needs and feels it has made her a stronger self-advocate.

“It gives me a chance to meet new people and help them,” she says. Darbi feels self-advocacy is important because:

“Everyone has the right to make their own choices. Just because you have a disability doesn’t mean you should be treated differently.”

Who was Clarence Marsh?  Clarence Marsh

Clarence (Butch) Marsh was a great man who worked very hard to promote self-advocacy and community inclusion. He was a dedicated volunteer and set positive examples for others in the community. Clarence was also the first chairperson of the South Region Self-Advocacy Network (SRSAN). He was an excellent leader and role model, believing that “anyone can learn at any age… people just need a chance.”

Clarence passed away suddenly on September 22, 2004. He is immensely missed by family and friends, but his message still lives on!

About the Award

Self-advocates wanted a way to honour their friend and the difference he made. SRSAN established the Clarence Marsh Memorial Award as a way to do that, while recognizing other self-advocates, too. In 2005, the first Clarence Marsh Memorial Award was presented to Lana Rutledge. Since then, SRSAN has awarded 10 self-advocates! Nominations open annually during the first three months of the year. Winners are chosen by SRSAN.

Who can be nominated?

The nominee should be a friend and/or someone you know. No self-nominations are accepted. The nominee does not have to have leadership training, but should have leadership skills. The nominee should be a self-advocate and have all, or most of the following characteristics:



Community Development